Search our site :

Collaborative PhD Programme in Economics

For more Information contact

CD003ECO01 - Doctor of Philosophy in Economics – ( With Coursework )

Programme convener:  Associate Professor Reza Daniels

Entrance requirements:

Candidates who possess either a second class (upper division) Bachelors degree and a Masters degree in Economics, or a minimum of a second class (lower division) Bachelors degree and a Masters degree in Economics with distinction are eligible to apply.

Programme outline:

This programme is offered in collaboration with other universities in sub-Saharan Africa and supported by the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) through donor funding.  Its distinguishing features are the integration of advanced theory, tools and African applications in the academic programme.

Duration of the programme:

Offered over four years full-time.  Two years are devoted to prerequisite coursesand two years are devoted to writing the thesis. The programme begins in January.

Prescribed curriculum/programme structure:

The programme comprises a thesis, with advanced courses as a pre-requisite to registering for the thesis. 

A candidate will ordinarily complete the coursework in the first two years before proceeding to the thesis. The programme is equivalent to 360 HEQF credits. The pre-requisite courses are non credit bearing for this programme. 

Required courses:          

ECO5011F            Quantitative Methods for Economists     

ECO5021F            Advanced Macroeconomics         

ECO5020F            Advanced Microeconomics          

ECO5046F            Advanced Econometrics                

ECO6007F            Microeconomics II            

ECO5030S            Applied Growth Theory

ECO5069S            Applied Time Series Analysis/ ECO5070S Microeconometrics      


A: Two courses (not taken in terms of the rules above) to be chosen from:

ECO5030S            Applied Growth Theory

ECO5050S            International Finance II

ECO5052S            Natural Resource Economics      

ECO5057S            Labour Economics           

ECO5062S            Applied International Trade       

ECO5064S            Views of Institutional and Behavioural Economics            

ECO5069S            Applied Time Series Analysis      

ECO5070S            Microeconometrics       

ECO5077S            Industrial Organisation

ECO5073F            Problems of Globalisation, Industrialisation and Development

ECO5074S            Research and Policy Tools

ECO5075S            Macroeconomic Policy Analysis

ECO5076S            Development Microeconomics

ECO5077S            Industrial Organization

With permission of the Programme Convener, students may be permitted to take two Masters courses (30 HEQF credits) from another Department.


B: Two courses to be chosen from the options offered at theJoint Facility for Electives in Nairobi

Options may be added or withdrawn according to circumstances each year.

The following specific rules apply to the programme:


Students who fail may repeat a maximum of two courses of the prerequisite coursework component once, provided that they scored at least 40% at the first attempt.


If a student fails an elective, they may substitute it with another elective.


There will be no supplementary examinations.


Students are required to submit a topic and sign a Memorandum of Understanding with a supervisor by the end of February of the year following the completion of the prerequisite coursework (typically the 3rd  year). 


Satisfactory progress for research as per the MoU (Memorandum of Understanding).


The degree is assessed entirely on the basis of the completed thesis.

For more information: CommercePG Handbook 2018 OR  email

To apply please use this link  Apply here