Home > Teaching in 2021 > Teaching in 2021: Semester 2
Teaching in 2021: Semester 2
Home > Teaching in 2021 > Teaching in 2021: Semester 2

Teaching in 2021: Semester 2

Our teaching in 2021 will be guided by keeping students and staff safe and creating an optimal environment for teaching and learning activities to continue.

To achieve these two essential objectives, the Commerce Faculty will offer all undergraduate courses (from 1st to final year) in a physically distanced learning mode (PDL) during the second semester of 2021.

Read more about Teaching in 2021 here.

Undergraduate course requirements (Second Semester 2021):

Please note: The information below only relates to Second Semester. For First Semester courses please click here.

For more information on each course, please consult the Commerce Undergraduate Handbook.

Please also read: Recommended minimum laptop/desktop specs.


Department of Finance and Tax

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessments Tutorials Hot seats
FTX1005S  Nomthandazo Jwara nomthandazo.jwara@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX2000S Abdul Abdulla abdul.abdulla1@gmail.com Online (test 1), on campus (test 2 and exam) Online N/A
FTX2024S Edward Chamisa edward.chamisa@uct.ac.za Online (test 1), on campus (test 2 and exam) Online N/A
FTX3045S Ayesha Sayed ayesha.sayed@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX4056S Akios Majoni akios.majoni@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX4087S Ryan Kruger  ryan.kruger@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A

Back to Top

School of Management Studies

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessments Tutorials Hot seats
BUS4034S Claudia Kalil claudia.kalil@uct.ac.za Online Online  Online 
BUS2033S Signe Rousseau signe.rousseau@uct.ac.za Online  Online Online
BUS1036S Jacques Rousseau jacques.rousseau@uct.ac.za No tests or exams Online N/A
BUS3038S Niall Naidoo niall.naidoo@uct.ac.za Online Online N/A
BUS3039S Ameeta Jaga ameeta.jaga@uct.ac.za No tests or exams N/A N/A
BUS4050W Alison Meadows alison.meadows@uct.ac.za Online Online  N/A
BUS3095S Stuart Hendry stuart.hendry@uct.ac.za Online N/A N/A
BUS1007S Carren Duffy carren.duffy@uct.ac.za Online N/A  Online
BUS2023S Zaakiyah Sait zaakiyah.sait@uct.ac.za Online N/A Online
BUS3004S Zonke Zungu zonke.zungu@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) N/A Online 
BUS1003H Lusani Mulaudzi lusani.mulaudzi@uct.ac.za Online Online Online
BUS2016H Sure Mataramvura sure.mataramvura@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online Online
BUS3024S Logan Standaar logan.standaar@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online Online
BUS4027W Pieter Botha pieter.botha@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online Online
BUS4027W Pieter Botha pieter.botha@uct.ac.za Online (tests)  N/A N/A
BUS4029H Erich Maritz erich.maritz@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4129H Erich Maritz erich.maritz@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4053H Erich Maritz erich.maritz@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4153H Erich Maritz erich.maritz@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4087S Sure Mataramvura sure.mataramvura@uct.ac.za Online (assignments) N/A N/A
BUS2010S Mymoena Williams mymoena.williams@uct.ac.za Online N/A N/A
BUS3008W Deon Nel deon.nel@uct.ac.za Online Online N/A
BUS3043S Nkosivile Madinga nkosivile.madinga@uct.ac.za Online Online N/A
BUS4026W Siphiwe Dlamini siphiwe.dlamini@uct.ac.za Online N/A N/A
BUS4052H Siphiwe Dlamini siphiwe.dlamini@uct.ac.za Online N/A N/A

Back to Top

College of Accounting

Course Code Convenor Name Convenor Email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
ACC1006S Nabeelah Daniels nabeelah.daniels@uct.ac.za On campus (one test and exam), online (one test) Online Online
ACC2011S Jimmy Winfield jimmy.winfield@uct.ac.za On campus (two tests and exam) Online Online
ACC2111S Carla Fourie carla.fourie@uct.ac.za On campus (two tests and exam) Online Online
ACC1012S Jacqui Kew acc1012s@uct.ac.za On campus (one test and exam), online (one test) Online Online
ACC2012W Ilse Lubbe acc2012w@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online N/A
ACC2018S Malilimalo Phaswana acc2018s@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online Online
ACC2022S Jacqueline Dean acc2022s@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus Online
ACC2023S Taryn Adams acc2023s@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  Online
ACC3004H Sameenah Esack sameenah.esack@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus N/A
ACC3009W Jatin Garach jatin.garach@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  Online
ACC3020W Samiah Fakier samiah.fakier@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  Online
ACC3022H Sihaam Shamsoodien sihaam.shamsoodien@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online  Online 
ACC3023H Riyaan Davids riyaan.davids@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  Online 
ACC4000H Jahangir Allie jahangir.allie@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  Online

Back to Top

Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

Course Code Convenor Name Convenor Email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
MAM1000W Tamar Janelidze-Gray tamar.janelidze-gray@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A
MAM1010S Beverley Grieshaber beverley.grieshaber@uct.ac.za

On campus (tests and exam)

Online N/A
MAM1012S Pieter Uys pieter11131@gmail.com On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A
MAM2000W Thomas van Heerden thomas.vanheerden@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A

Back to Top

School of Economics

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
ECO2004S Refilwe Lepelle refilwe.lepelle@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online Online
ECO2007S Rinelle Chetty rinelle.chetty@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online Online
ECO3025S Jing Chien jing.chien@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online Online
ECO3023S Neryvia Pillay-Bell neryvia.pillay@uct.ac.za Online (summative assessment), on campus (exam)  Online/on campus Online/on campus
ECO1010S Nisreen Narker nisreen.narker@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online Online
ECO1110S Nisreen Narker nisreen.narker@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online Online
ECO1007S Cecil Mlatsheni cecil.mlatsheni@uct.ac.za Online (assessments)  Online Online
ECO1011S Leigh Neethling leigh.neethling@uct.ac.za Online (tests) Online Online
ECO2008S Djiby Thiam djiby.thiam@uct.ac.za Online (tests) Online Online
ECO3021S Reza Daniels  reza.daniels@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
ECO3022S Neryvia Pillay-Bell neryvia.pillay@uct.ac.za Online (assessments), on campus (exam)  Online/on campus N/A

Department of Information Systems

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats (optional)
INF1002S Pitso Tsibolane pitso.tsibolane@uct.ac.za  Online (assignment, tests and assessments) Online Online
INF1102S Meke Kapepo meke.kapepo@uct.ac.za Online (assignment, tests and capstone assessment) Online Online
INF2010S Grant Oosterwyk grant.oosterwyk@uct.ac.za Online (assignment, tests and assessments)  Online Online
INF2011S Salah Kabanda salah.kabanda@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online Online
INF3012S  Lisa Seymour lisa.seymour@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online Online
INF3003W Walter Uys walter.uys@uct.ac.za Online (capstone project presentations) Online Online

 

Back to Top

Department of Computer Science

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessments Tutorials Hot seats
CSC1010H Gary Stewart gstewart@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online On campus
CSC1011H Gary Stewart gstewart@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A
CSC1016S Aslam Safla aslam@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests)

Online

Online
CSC2002S Maria Keet mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A
CSC2004Z Maria Keet mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exam) N/A N/A
CSC2005Z Maria Keet mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za Online (project) N/A N/A
CSC3003S Patrick Marais patrick@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (test, exam and practicals) Online/on campus  N/A
CSC4003S Jan Buys jan.buys@uct.ac.za On campus (exam and test), online (exam and test) N/A N/A

Back to Top

Department of Statistical Sciences 

Course code Convenor name     Convenor email Assessments     Tutorials     Hot seats
STA1000S    Leanne Scott     leanne.scott@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA1006S Sulaiman Salau sulaiman.salau@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA1106H Tim Low tim.low@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA1007S Res Altwegg res.altwegg@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) On campus Online
STA2005S Birgit Erni birgit.erni@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA2007H Res Altwegg res.altwegg@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA2007S Res Altwegg res.altwegg@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests)  On campus Online
STA2020S Neil Watson neil.watson@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA2030S Joshua Arendse joshua.arendse@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA3036S Juwa Nyirenda juwa.nyirenda@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA3043S Etienne Pienaar etienne.pienaar@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA3047S Etienne Pienaar etienne.pienaar@uct.ac.za  On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online
STA3047S Etienne Pienaar etienne.pienaar@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online Online

Back to Top

Department of Commercial Law (CML course codes)

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessments Tutorials Hot seats
CML2010S  Jane Franco jane.franco@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online N/A
CML1004S Sinikiwe Mzezewa sinikiwe.mzezewa@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online N/A

Recommended minimum  Laptop/Desktop specs:

  • i3/i5 Processor
  • 8GB of RAM 
  • 250GB hard drive minimum 

For students who will be required to run large datasets or application development software such as Visual Studio, the above specification will not be sufficient and the following should be considered: 

  • i5/i7 Processor
  • 16GB of RAM
  • 250GB hard drive minimum

Please consult with your course convener to ask about the recommended hardware specs to run the software required in specific courses.

Further details regarding special deals on laptops for students can be found here.

READ MORE:

 

 

TOP