Home > Teaching in 2021
Commerce: Teaching in 2021
Home > Teaching in 2021

Commerce: Teaching in 2021

Our teaching in 2021 will be guided by keeping students and staff safe and creating an optimal environment for teaching and learning activities to continue.

To achieve these two essential objectives, the Commerce Faculty will offer all undergraduate courses (from 1st to final year) in a physically distanced learning mode (PDL) during the first semester of 2021.

Read more about Teaching in 2021 here.

Undergraduate course requirements (first semester 2021)

Please note: The information below only relates to first semester. 

For more information on each course, please consult the Commerce Undergraduate Handbook.

Faculty of Law courses (CML, PVL and PBL courses)

Please note that all courses offered by the Faculty of Law will be fully online in the first semester, including all assessments (tests and exams) and tutorials. 

Please also read: Recommended minimum laptop/desktop specs.


Department of Finance and Tax

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
FTX1005F Cader Abdulla abdul.abdulla@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX2020F Ezelda Swanepoel ezelda.swanepoel@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX2024F Edward Chamisa edward.chamisa@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX3044F Ailie Charteris ailie.charteris@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
FTX4051H Chun-Sung Huang chun-sung.huang@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
FTX4052H Chun-Sung Huang chun-sung.huang@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
FTX4057F Pradeep Brijlal pradeep.brijlal@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) N/A N/A
FTX4086F Francois Toerien francois.toerien@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) N/A N/A

Back to Top

School of Management Studies

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
BUS1003H Lusani Mulaudzi lusani.mulaudzi@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online  Online 
BUS1004F Niall Naidoo niall.naidoo@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online N/A
BUS1036F Jacques Rousseau jacques.rousseau@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
BUS2010F Lebogang Mototo lebogang.mototo@uct.ac.za N/A Online N/A
BUS2011F Mymoena Williams  mymoena.williams@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
BUS2016H Sure Mataramvura sure.mataramvura@uct.ac.za On campus (exam) Online  N/A
BUS2024F Zaakiyah Sait zaakiyah.sait@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS2033F Signe Rousseau signe.rousseau@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online  N/A
BUS3002F Zonke Zungu zonke.zungu@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (test)  N/A N/A
BUS3008W Deon Nel deon.nel@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online  Online 
BUS3018F Logan Standaar logan.standaar@uct.ac.za On campus (test and exam)  N/A N/A
BUS3039F Ameeta Jaga  ameeta.jaga@uct.ac.za N/A N/A Online
BUS3041F Nqobile Bundwini  nqobile.bundwini@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A Online
BUS4006W Adiilah Boodhoo adiilah.boodhoo@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4026W Siphiwe Dlamini  siphiwe.dlamini@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
BUS4027W Pieter Botha pieter.botha@uct.ac.za Online (tests)  N/A N/A
BUS4028F Erich Maritz erich.maritz@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) N/A N/A
BUS4050W Alison Meadows alison.meadows@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
BUS4052H Siphiwe Dlamini  siphiwe.dlamini@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
BUS4058F Siphiwe Dlamini  siphiwe.dlamini@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A

Back to Top

College of Accounting

Course Code Convenor Name Convenor Email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
ACC1006F Magon Gajewski magon.gajewski@uct.ac.za On campus (1 test and exam), online (1 test) Online N/A
ACC1106F Carla Fourie carla.fourie@uct.ac.za On campus (1 test and exam), online (1 test) Online N/A
ACC2012W Asief Dhansay asief.dhansay@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online N/A
ACC2022F Navitha Singh-Sewpersadh navitha.sewpersadh@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online N/A
ACC2023F Taryn Adams taryn.adams@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online N/A
ACC3004H Kim Hendrickse kim.hendrickse@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  N/A
ACC3009W Jatin Garach jatin.garach@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  N/A
ACC3020W Samiah Fakier samiah.fakier@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  N/A
ACC3022H Sihaam Shamsoodien sihaam.shamsoodien@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) Online N/A
ACC3023H Riyaan Davids riyaan.davids@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  N/A
ACC4000H Jahangir Allie jahangir.allie@uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exam) On campus  N/A

Back to Top

Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

Course Code Convenor Name Convenor Email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
MAM1000W Tamar Janelidze-Gray tamar.janelidze-gray@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online N/A
MAM2000W Thomas van Heerden thomas.vanheerden@uct.ac.za On campus (exams), online (tests) Online N/A
MAM1010F Pieter Uys pieter11131@gmail.com On campus (exam and 2 tests), online (fortnightly tests) Online N/A
MAM1012F Beverley Grieshaber beverley.grieshaber@uct.ac.za On campus (exams and 2 tests), online (weekly tests) Online N/A

Back to Top

School of Economics

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
ECO1006F Samantha Filby samantha.filby@uct.ac.za On campus (tests), online (exam) Online N/A
ECO1010F Nisreen Narker nisreen.narker@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO1110F Nisreen Narker nisreen.narker@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO1011F Ntokozo Nzimande ntokozo.nzimande@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO2003F Lawrence Edwards lawrence.edwards@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (tests) Online N/A
ECO3009F Beatrice Conradie beatrice.conradie@uct.ac.za Online (tests) N/A N/A
ECO3016F Nicoli Nattrass nicoli.nattrass@uct.ac.za Online (tests) N/A N/A
ECO3020F Eftychia Nikolaidou efi.nikolaidou@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO3024F Leigh Neethling leigh.neethling@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online (test) N/A N/A
ECO4006F Eftychia Nikolaidou efi.nikolaidou@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO4007F Eftychia Nikolaidou efi.nikolaidou@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO4112F Eftychia Nikolaidou efi.nikolaidou@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A
ECO4016F Eftychia Nikolaidou efi.nikolaidou@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A

Department of Information Systems

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessment Tutorials Hot seats
INF1002F Pitso Tsibolane pitso.tsibolane@uct.ac.za  Online (tests and exam) Online Online
INF1003F Zainab Ruhwanya zainab.ruhwanya@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) N/A Online
INF1102F Adheesh Budree adheesh.budree@uct.ac.za  Online (tests and exam) Online Online
INF2004F Pitso Tsibolane pitso.tsibolane@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) Online Online
INF2006F  Adheesh Budree adheesh.budree@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) Online N/A
INF2007F Salah Kabanda salah.kabanda@uct.ac.za On campus (exams) N/A N/A
INF2008F Salah Kabanda salah.kabanda@uct.ac.za On campus (exams) N/A N/A
INF2009F Ayanda Pekane ayanda.pekane@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) N/A N/A
INF3003W  Walter Uys walter.uys@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) N/A Online
INF3011F Gwamaka Mwalemba gt.mwalemba@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) N/A N/A
INF3014F Gwamaka Mwalemba gt.mwalemba@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exams) N/A On Campus
INF4024W  Salah Kabanda salah.kabanda@uct.ac.za N/A N/A N/A
INF4026F Adheesh Budree adheesh.budree@uct.ac.za Online (tests and exam) N/A N/A

Back to Top

Department of Computer Science

Course code Convenor name Convenor email Assessments Tutorials Hot seats
CSC1010H Gary Stewart gstewart@cs.uct.ac.za Online (tests), on campus (exams) On campus N/A
CSC1011H Gary Stewart gstewart@cs.uct.ac.za Online (tests), on campus (exams) On campus N/A
CSC1015F Aslam Safla aslam@cs.uct.ac.za Online (tests), on campus (exams) Online N/A
CSC2001F Maria Keet mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za Online (tests), on campus (exams) Online N/A
CSC2004Z Maria Keet mkeet@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exams) Online N/A
CSC3002F Patrick Marais patrick@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (tests and exams) Online N/A
CSC4003W Jan Buys jbuys@cs.uct.ac.za On campus (exams) Online N/A

Back to Top

Department of Statistical Sciences 

Course code Convenor name     Convenor email Assessments     Tutorials     Hot seats
STA1000F     Leanne Scott     leanne.scott@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests  Online, optional on campus practicals N/A
STA1106H Tim Low tim.low@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA2004F Melusi Mavuso melusi.mavuso@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA2020F Neil Watson nm.watson@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA3022F Sebnem Er sebnem.er@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA3030F Greg Distiller greg.distiller@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA3041F Dominique Katshunga dominique.katshunga@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests Online N/A
STA3045F Tim Gebbie tim.gebbie@uct.ac.za On campus (exam), online tests On campus N/A
STA4010W Greg Distiller greg.distiller@uct.ac.za On campus (exam) N/A N/A
STA4006W Greg Distiller greg.distiller@uct.ac.za On campus (exam) N/A N/A

Recommended minimum  Laptop/Desktop specs:

  • i3/i5 Processor
  • 8GB of RAM 
  • 250GB hard drive minimum 

For students who will be required to run large datasets or application development software such as Visual Studio, the above specification will not be sufficient and the following should be considered: 

  • i5/i7 Processor
  • 16GB of RAM
  • 250GB hard drive minimum

Please consult with your course convener to ask about the recommended hardware specs to run the software required in specific courses.

Further details regarding special deals on laptops for students can be found here.

READ MORE:

What is PDL in the Commerce Faculty?

PDL means that the key orientation activities and first semester lectures and tutorials will be offered online. Assessments (for example tests and exams) during and at the end of the semester will be invigilated for certain courses in appropriate venues on campus. Invigilation means that you write in a venue - with invigilators present - and the assessment is set for a particular duration. We will upload details on this site for the courses requiring this type of assessment.

Each course convenor decides how teaching activities are offered. There are two types of online teaching: synchronous or asynchronous format. Synchronous means that you need to log on at a particular time and take part in a live-teaching activity. Asynchronous refers to a learning activity where material is uploaded to the course Vula site. You can study it in your time, but must meet the timelines that will be given for completion. We expect that most lectures will be held in an asynchronous format while some tutorials (or workshops) will be synchronous.

What does that mean in practice?

  • Students are expected to attend all synchronous teaching and learning activities.
  • For each course, the course convener will communicate the form/s of assessment.

To successfully take part in PDL, each student is required to have sufficient connectivity and access to complete the expected 45 weekly hours throughout the semester. This will require at a minimum:

  • Access to a computer with appropriate soft– and hardware to maintain a stable internet connection and access relevant software.
  • Uninterrupted internet access with no data restrictions.
  • Stable internet connectivity to the UCT required platforms (Vula, library resources, Office 365, STATA).

What does this mean for Commerce First Year Students?
Students must ensure that they can participate in all orientation and teaching activities. First-year orientation lays the foundation of your courses. During orientation you will be given important information on the Faculty’s curriculum options and choices and you will learn how to engage with your courses online. This is a critical period of preparation and you need to participate fully in all orientation activities.

Commerce Orientation opens on the 1 March 2021. It is essential that you are ready and able to engage with all online orientation activities. Attending orientation is required for registration. The orientation site and orientation activities run until the semester starts.;

Once the semester starts formally on the 15th March, there will be additional support and information available to help our students adjust to UCT. We also have orientation leaders available every day to answer your queries and guide you along the way. Our orientation leaders are senior students in the faculty who know what goes into adjusting to UCT and being successful in Commerce.

TOP